Aye, Robot!

As part of my PGDip assessment I had to write news reports for the web, complete with two interviews, cutaways and links to relevant sites.  I can’t link to our uni site as it’s private but thought I’d post up my videos.   I chose to cover the Edinburgh International Science Festival – it ties in with my geekiness, plus also it meant I could meet the Honda ASIMO robot, which was being introduced to Scotland for the first time. 

asimo1

  In case you’ve not seen the advert, ASIMO is the world’s most advanced humanoid robot; he’s able to run, climb stairs, kick a football, dance and conduct orchestras. What’s most interesting about him, however, is he’s able to recognise humans and speech therefore he can interact.  The idea is eventually the technology will be developed to help around the home of disabled people, carrying out simple tasks according to need.

The first one’s an interview with William de Braekeleer from Honda.  I don’t know about anyone else but to me he’s the epitome of a robot scientist, he’s so enthusiastic!

Interview number 2 was with Dr. Sethu Vijayakumar, Professor in Robotics at the University of Edinburgh – again an amazing interviewee due to his enthusiasm for robotics.  A ten minute interview became forty minutes and I ended up adding an extra couple of questions just out of sheer curiosity.  Needless to say I ended up with far more footage than required therefore editing took a little longer than originally expected.

One Response to “Aye, Robot!”

  1. Omar Says:

    Have you seen big dog? It tries to do as much as possible locally, so each leg can react independently of the ‘brain’ which lets it respond so quickly. It’s like our reflex reactions.

    Give me a couple more years and they’ll understand networks of info and hopefully start to understand new concepts (rather than ones they’ve been specifically trained for). We’ll see :s

    Put more up when you can!

Leave a Reply

