La-la Versus Technology

Me and technology have a love-hate relationship.

Love:

My new widescreen TV.  

Oh wow, it’s so pretty! It’s opposite the end of my bed, so just like having a home cinema.  I can almost see already the beautiful camera angles and ambitious panoramic shots from the various movies I’ll be watching.  Everything will be brighter, sharper.   I might not even need my glasses – not that I can find them anyway.

Hate:

I have no remote control. 

…or aerial. 

…or DVD player.  It’s in Edinburgh.  I am in London. 

I just stare at it.

Shiny. 

 

Love:

Movies. In general.  Online, at cinema, on TV, on DVD. 

Going to a friend’s house to watch a DVD (in this case, pal Jo’s house on rainy bank holiday Monday to watch Run Fatboy Run).

Hate:

DVD disappearing into the abyss that is the body of the DVD player. 

Spending an hour taking the DVD player apart with a screwdriver to retrieve it. 

Leave a Reply

