One kidney down, one to go

Owwwwwwwwwwwww!!!  All is not good in La-La Land.  Another trip to the ‘burgh nearly ended in disaster as having a fainting spell somewhere just outside Doncaster on a fast moving train threatened to jeopardise whether this author, plus what felt like 10 carrier bags of clothes, made it safely home.    Add to this a general feeling of sickness and dizziness.  Now before you think ‘appendicitis!’, I’ll explain that I’d had a slight pain in the left side for quite a few weeks, plus a feeling of not really being ‘with it’ but, fearing a doctor visit, plus acceptance that the latter symptom is quite normal for me, had hoped it would just melt away. 

 

Yeah.  It didn’t.  The ‘slight’ pain was now a throbbing full-blown agonising stomach-clutching affair.

Those of you who have read my previous London doctor visit will be able to understand my fear at the realisation that a doctor must be consulted – and soon.  This girl’s not daft; I hightailed it down early Monday morning to the rival surgery on the block.  ‘I’ve only just moved down and haven’t registered with anyone yet’ says me, all innocence and dramatic tummy clutching.    

 Imagine my relief when I discovered no pee sticks on the floor and a nice stern doctor, very different from the grinning previous version who had tried to get me to educate his brother about cow and goat management in Saudi Arabia. 

To emphasise this, here is a goat standing on a cow:

So – here I am.  Oh – what’s wrong with me?  A kidney infection.  Yes. Lovely.  Apparently it’s swollen.  The doctor got quite excited about this fact.  I’m all antibiotic’d-up and off the booze (well, for so long as the antibiotics are required), with people getting very excited for some reason about my ‘real’ illness.  I’m not excited. It hurts. Like a big stitch. But worse.

Although I am completely understanding that this has been a chronic, rather than acute, onset of illness, I would still like to place some blame.  So here it is.  I have decided to blame the toxic, ectoplasmic green stuff I was made to drink on Saturday night. 

7 Responses to “One kidney down, one to go”

  1. bitsofbobs Says:

    Awwwwwwwwww…get better soon…the green stuff does indeed look evil but who’s drinking the shaving foam at the back?

  2. bitsofbobs Says:

    Awwwwwwwwww…get better soon…the green stuff does indeed look evil but who’s drinking the shaving foam at the back?

  3. Nic Says:

    hmm…that would be the gift to the birthday girl – this is how mankind likes to celebrate their mate’s birthday – make everyone drink slime and the birthday girl gets a big cup of frothed up soap.

  4. Nic Says:

    so vehement he was at this outrage he posted it twice!

  5. bitsofbobs Says:

    oops

  6. bitsofbobs Says:

    yes…oops

  7. Nic Says:

    Oh note to self – it wasn’t a kidney infection. I’m a mystery disease! 🙂 Much more interesting that way, but at least I can drink now!

Leave a Reply

