Life Through La La’s Lens

Soo….London, eh?  Big.

 lots of people.

 Kind of smells funny.  People stare.

I’ve done my first week in pictures.  You can follow my train of thought, or…if you like, look at the pictures and make up your own story.

 Here goes…

 I came to London after a 2-day trip down ‘sarrrrrf’ via Newcastle (pissssshed) and swung via Mam’s house to see the parentals and some cat-shaped creatures.

In London, I find I spend a lot of time on trains.  One amuses ones self on trains by utilising a music device.

dsc00434.jpg

Now although I felt a bit like i’d left half of me in Scotland

dsc00414.jpg

I decide to mix with the ‘natives’.  This involved a trip to the pub to watch what they call “Rugby”.   As far as I can see, as this game is quite dull it’s basically an excuse to drink all afternoon…even if a round of 3 sets you back £15!

dsc00448.jpg

On beginning my new job (the purpose of moving to said ‘London’) I discovered my office is located right next to MI6! 

mi6.jpg

I keep looking out for Bond but they say he spends a lot of time abroad.

Apparently when MI6 evacuates they ‘neglect’ to tell us why and leave us to whatever fate awaits.  I can’t wait!!!

My life in London so far includes:

1)  Getting lost.  All the time.  Contending with overland/underground/oystercards/travelcards/southbound/northbound/via bank/not via bank

WHERE AM I!?!?! 

dsc00449.jpg

ohhhh, well that’s easy then…

2) Not being able to sleep.  Why….? 

dsc00475.jpg

3) Tube Art.  A source of interest, factual information (poems on the Tube), amusement and photo opportunities. 

I liked this one.  I especially liked the weird looks from the 100 people standing to my right.  1 second after this photo was taken Spidey was obscured from view by the latest Morden-destined train.

dsc00480.jpg

Until I move into my new flat (Balham – apparently ‘a nice area’) I am staying in Blackheath with 2 boy-shaped creatures and, as I don’t trust myself to actually remember to get on the last train to Blackheath (‘overland’), this is how I spend my evenings.

 dsc00482.jpgdsc00482.jpg

Verdict on London so far:   QUIETLY CONFIDENT.  As with any new relationship, its flaws have the potential to become what I like most about my new home.  Whilst I firmly remain loyal to Scotland and will be heading back in the unknown future, I am positive the fun will find me.  Starting with Justice (possibly twice) next week.  Can’t get better than that.

And for anyone who fancies a trip to the big smoke, come play.

9 Responses to “Life Through La La’s Lens”

  1. Gary Wood Says:

    Will you review Justice for us?

    Any dog toffee in London?

  2. Tom Steel Says:

    I used to work next to MI6 too, and not long after the building was hit by a motar rocket attack…

    Vauxhall isn’t too bad though, try The Lavendar on the edge of the park for some good beer and giant homemade chips.

  3. Nic Says:

    I have no dog toffee to report. Maybe dogs here are too ‘street’ to do that.

  4. Nic Says:

    Been to lavendar – was niiice. Mmmmm..chips.

  5. Gary Wood Says:

    back heid punch. bad,

  6. Nic Says:

    you is a street fighter

  7. unyans Says:

    You do realise you’ve compromised homeland security by publishing the location of MI6 live on the internet. You’re in trouble Miss Cunningham!

  8. Nic Says:

    but they say so on their website! wow – they also have a picture of what it looks like from the other side – cooooooooooooooool!

  9. Nic Says:

    plus didn’t bond come out of it in goldeneye and go along the thames in speedboat? he kind of gave it away good and proper there, eh?

Leave a Reply

