The Wham! Mystery

wham.jpg

There’s something that’s been bugging me for a while now and I thought it worthy of blog status.

I joined this thing called Last.fm last week. 

Good things about Last.fm:

  • It tells you who you’ve been listening to most, etc.. and I’m a fan of pointless stats and stalking myself. 
  • You can check your friends pages and get new music ideas
  • Hopefully your pals can see when you’re playing miserable/angry music and know that you’re feeling shite so either must be left alone, dragged out for night of fun and frolics or consoled with chocolate.  Just thought though, happy music can sometimes be played in times of crisis, so it’s maybe best not to take that as gospel

Bad things about Last.fm:

  • You feel like you can’t listen to Rihanna Umbrella as many times as you’d like to because, even though you love that song and are a bit obsessed with the dance in the video, everyone else thinks it’s a bit crap and you’re a bit embarrassed that you like it

Anyway,

So the point of my blog is this…

even though I never play it (I SWEAR!) for some reason my 5th most-played tune is Wham! Wake me up before you go go.   Whyyyyy?  I don’t understand.  I spend so long downloading/uploading my tunes, playing my favourite people, putting together interesting playlists.

Why pick on me Last.fm?  What have I ever done to you?  People are going to see my page and think ‘jeeeeez, she must really like that Wham! song. Sad cow’.  It could affect my life.  My future friendships.  My chance of ever having children.

 One of the reasons i’m so confused is because for some reason it is 2 above The Salmon Dance by the Chemical Brothers.  My flatmate is obsessed with the fishy song and makes me play it over and over.  So why, therefore, when I never listen to Wake me up before you go go, is Last.fm still telling me i’ve played it 3 more times than Sammy the Salmon??

 Confused.com? You bet I am.

 All I can say is – people, please don’t judge me.  I think elves are doing it when i’m not around. Sneaky wee buggers.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “The Wham! Mystery”

  1. Macca Says:

    it’s cos your flatmate listens to it when you’re out.

  2. Nic Says:

    i think you’re onto something there! I’ll have to set up secret cctv

  3. Gary Wood Says:

    I listened to it it 7 times when I came over. It’s a classic, almost as good as dancing in the street.

  4. Nic Says:

    i’m onto you gary wood

  5. Nic Says:

    oh and i’m saving the dancing in the street blog for tomorrow. didn’t want to overload you all with greatness

  6. niki Says:

    I truly only ever listen to the fishy song…..
    And some other songs on my itunes that I will not be announcing on a blog!
    😛

  7. Nic Says:

    Right. I know i’m going on about this but honestly I have checked my top played songs in itunes and Wham! wake me up before you go on is nowhere in sight!!

    Someone’s setting me up!

  8. Gary Wood Says:

    Do you have it?

  9. Nic Says:

    Yup yup yup – I have it 🙂 It’s a getting ready to go out song! But I just don’t play it all that often! HONESTLY!

  10. Gary Wood Says:

    But you did go out a lot…..

  11. Nic Says:

    true 😦 I feel like a fraud

  12. unyans Says:

    Maybe it’s conscience that’s making you play lots of Wham! Given that you recently disowned Erasure as one of your favourite bands, you feel that you may becoming a homophobic music fan (maybe we could call that being homophonic?) – anyway to offset this guilt, you are playing, maybe without the knowledge of your conscious mind, lots and lots of Wham! all day long. I think I’ve cracked it.

  13. Nic Says:

    wow! my subconscious is intelligent

Leave a Reply

